crochet

From 4th of July to Hiding Inside

Fourth of July, usually a busy day for us Americans to kick back, throw some delicious food on the grill, and soak up the sunshine from the comfort of our lawn. Well, good ol’ Virginia took that idea and said “Nope!” as it unleashes a storm outside my patio door. The power has probably gone off about five or more times, my phone died while making this post, and my cat is utterly confused on what the heck all that noise is. While originally planning to be by the pool and end my night with fireworks, I can’t complain a bunch. I have more time to do what I love the most, crochet!

amigurumi_pokemon
Skiddo, Roselia, and Ponyta

This morning I finished my final order, these three crochet Poke’mon. They were made for a sweet customer who always has fun and challenging ones for me to make for her. Along with the Poke’mon I got to finish a Harry Potter, and Moana doll who are off to their forever homes tomorrow.

Since I’m taking a day off from Etsy, I will finally work on my first shawl in a long time:

PSX_20170704_154342
(Ugh, picture does NOT do this yarn justice.) This is based off a beautiful (and FREE!) pattern from the Make and Do Crew. I had never found a shawl pattern so easy before! Their webpage does a great job at detailing the steps with helpful pictures. I started this last month while on vacation and was so close to finishing- but then I got home and went back to Etsy seller mode and focused on a few other quicker projects. All that is missing from my lovely shawl is the border, I pray I am patient enough to start today, or maybe even finish. Who else is crafting today?

Hmm. My post isn’t very festive huh? To close this out I’m going to suggest and adorable pattern to fit today’s holiday:

Rocket 4 (Medium)
Anneris of Amigurumi Food has to have the cutest crochet food on the internet. Her patterns are so full of life and make me grin like a crazy person. The best part? She even shares some of her patterns for free! If you like this awesome little rocket, or want to learn to make a cute cake, bat, or cup of cocoa (marshmallows included) visit her site.

I’m going to enjoy the rest of my 4th from the comfort of my couch, and use the dwindling light from the windows to crochet until the power comes back on. Hopefully soon. Everyone have a great day!

-Determined to Crochet, Millie

5 thoughts on “From 4th of July to Hiding Inside”

  1. We had beautiful sunny skies here in Connecticut for the last 3 days in a row!! I’ve been sitting outside crocheting and soaking up that gorgeous sunshine. It was cloudy and rainy for most of June. I love your little pokemon and the shawl looks great!! I know what you mean about having the picture not always capture the great color of the yarn but I love the color that it looks like in the picture so the real color must be fabulous!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    1. Ahh that sounds so lovely, I’m totally jealoussss ๐Ÿ˜‚ I’m not sure if this is normal, but we’ve had a ton of rain here in Virginia. I’m happy you liked my projects, I took pictures of the finished shawl today, I’ve never been more proud of something!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a shame your Fourth was rainy, but at least you were able to make something good out of it! Your Pokemon plushes are adorable~ and the shawl looks so cozy! Looking forward to seeing it completed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

